Yellowstone County, Montana
Floodplain Permits Contact Department

Download a Joint Floodplain Application Permit (Link to state permitting site)

Download an Elevation Certificate or Instructions (Link to FEMA site)

Download a Floodproofing Certificate (Link to FEMA site)

Download an Emergency Notification (Adobe .pdf format)

Permit Information & Application Requirements

Please check with the Floodplain Office to determine whether you need a Floodplain permit for building projects. In order to determine whether your property is located in the floodplain or not, you will need the Legal Description of the property. It should consist of the following:

- A Subdivision name with a lot and block number or
- A Certificate of Survey number with Section, Township, and Range, and in most instances, a tract number.

Example: Bell Estates Subdivision Lot 3 Block 2
C/S 2201 Tract 1 SE1/4 NE1/4 Section 32, T3N, R26E

You may be asked to visit the office in order to determine whether the property is in the floodplain or not.

Contact the Floodplain Office

If you are required to purchase a Floodplain Permit, you'll need to contact the office for an application and requirements. Requirements vary with each property.

A non-refundable processing fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be submitted with each permit and/or variance application. Checks can be made out to Yellowstone County. This fee will cover the administrative cost of processing the permit and/or variance, providing public notice and performing sufficient field inspections to ensure compliance with these regulations. Completed permits can be delivered to the office at the Yellowstone County Courthouse or sent to:

Floodplain Administrator, Yellowstone County
PO Box 35024
Billings, Mt 59107

Yellowstone County participates in a FEMA sponsored program called the Community Rating System (CRS) as part of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP requirements. As a result, flood insurance premium rates are discounted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from the community actions. For CRS participating communities, flood insurance premium rates are discounted in increments of 5%; i.e., a Class 1 community would receive a 45% premium discount, while a Class 9 community would receive a 5% discount (a Class 10 is not participating in the CRS and receives no discount). Yellowstone County is rated as a Class 8 community (2004 - present) and homeowners purchasing flood insurance receive and 10% premium discount.

More information on the CRS program