

Mike Linder Robert Lester Sheriff / Coroner Undersheriff

2323 2nd Ave N, Billings, Montana 59101 Phone: 406-256-2929

CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT INFORMATION

(Montana Statues 45-8-315 through 45-8-328)

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY: INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE DENIED AND SENT BACK TO THE APPLICANT FOR COMPLETION

- The application fee is \$50.00 for a standard permit a, payable by **check or cash** only. Application fee is non-refundable in the event it is determined that you are ineligible to receive a permit.
- You must present your Montana Driver's License or ID card, and proof of weapons training. For proof of weapons training, we accept the following:
 - Military Discharge Form DD 214 (to request a duplicate form, call MT Veterans Affairs at 406-755-3795)
 - O Hunter Safety Certificate (to request a duplicate card, call 406-752-5501 (local), 406-444-4046 (Helena), or access online at fwp.mt.gov)
 - We may consider a concealed weapons permit from another state or county
 - o Any other weapons training certificate from a certified instructor

GENERAL INFORMATION

"Concealed Weapon" means a firearm that is wholly or partially covered by the clothing or wearing apparel of the person carrying or bearing the weapon. A permit is required of you will be concealing a weapon in an incorporated town (city). A weapon is a dirk, dagger, pistol, revolver, slingshot, sword cane, billy, knuckles made of any metal or hard substance, knife, razor not including a safety razor, or other deadly weapon

You will be ineligible to receive a permit if you:

- Are ineligible under Montana or federal law to own, posses, or receive a firearm
- Have been charged and are awaiting judgement in any state of a state or federal crime that is punishable by incarceration for 1 year or more
- Have been convicted in any state or federal court in any state of a crime punishable by more than 1 year of incarceration
- Or regardless of the sentence that may be imposed, a crime that includes as an element of the crime an act, attempted act, or threat of intentional homicide, serious bodily harm, unlawful restraint, sexual abuse, or sexual intercourse or contact without consent



Mike Linder Sheriff / Coroner Robert Lester Undersheriff

2323 2nd Ave N, Billings, Montana 59101 Phone: 406-256-2929

- Have been convicted carrying a concealed weapon while under the influence OR in a prohibited place, unless you have been pardoned or 5 years have elapsed since the date of the conviction
- Have a warrant of any state or the federal government out for your arrest
- Have been adjudicated in a criminal or civil proceeding in a court of any state or in a federal court to be an unlawful user of an intoxicating substance and are under a court order of imprisonment or other incarceration, probation, suspended, or deferred imposition or sentence, treatment or education, or other conditions of release or are otherwise under state supervision
- Have been adjudicated in a criminal or civil proceeding in a court of any state or in a federal court to be mentally ill, mentally defective, or mentally disabled and are still subjected to a disposition order of that court
- Were dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces

The Sheriff may deny an applicant a permit to carry a concealed weapon if the Sheriff has reasonable cause to believe that the applicant is mentally ill, mentally defective, or mentally disabled or otherwise may be a threat to the peace and good order of the community to the extent that the applicant should not be allowed to carry a concealed weapon.

If you are issued a permit, you may NOT:

- Carry a concealed weapon while under the influence of an intoxication substance
- Carry a concealed weapon in a building owned or leased by the Federal, State or local government, bank, credit union, saving and loan or similar institution, or room in which alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed and consumed.

The permit may be revoked if any circumstances arise that would require the Sheriff to refuse to grant the permittee an original license. If your permit is revoked, you will be required to surrender it to any peace officer upon notification by the Sheriff.

A person with a permit to carry a concealed weapon who changes his/her county of residence shall within 10 days of the change inform the Sheriff of both the old and new counties of residence of this change of residence and that he holds the permit. If his residence changed either from or to a city or town with a police force, he shall also inform the Chief or Police in each of those cities or towns.

APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED IN FRONT OF THE SHERIFF OR SOMEONE DESIGNATED BY THE SHERIFF!

(please do not mail in applications because of this policy)



Mike Linder Sheriff / Coroner

Robert Lester Undersheriff

2323 2nd Ave N, Billings, Montana 59101 Phone: 406-256-2929

THIS FORM IS FOR	NEW OR RENEWAL <u>S</u>	TANDARD AF	PLICATIO	NS	
Standard					
(18 years of age or older	•)				
State of Montana Reside	YES N	IO Ye	ear(s)	Month(s)	
Current citizen of the U			· /	()	
Permanent Lawful resid		YES N	0		
	itizen you must provide a (dont Card)	
(I) you are not a 0.5. Cl	iizen you musi provide a c	copy of your rea	munem Resu	uem Cara)	
ANSWERING "NO"	TO ANY OF THE ABO	VE QUESTION	S WILL DI	SQUALIFY Y	OU.
DI	C 11 ' 1 1				
Please type or print the	following clearly.				
Full name:					
Tun name.	Last	First		Middle	
	Lust	Thst		Middle	
Physical Home Address:					
-	Street	Cit	.y	State	Zip
3.6.11					
Mailing Address:	PO Box/ Street			Citati	7.
	PO Box/ Street	City		State	Zip
Phone Numbers:	/			/	
Thone I tumoers.					
	Home	Cell			Work
Current employer:					
	Name & Address	Cit	y	State	Zip
		_			
Place of Birth (state):		Dat	e of Birth:	/	/
Mantana Duissania I isa	/ID#.	г	instina Dete	,	1
iviontana Driver's License	/ID#:	Exp	oration Date: _	/	/
Social Security #	Gender	· Height	Weight	· Hair	Eves
Docial Deculity π.	Gender	Height.	weight	· 11a11 · _	Lycs



Employer/ Business Name

Yellowstone County Sheriff's Office

Mike Linder Sheriff / Coroner

Robert Lester Undersheriff

Dates of Employment

2323 2nd Ave N, Billings, Montana 59101 Phone: 406-256-2929

Address (complete)

LIST EACH FORMER EMPLOYER OR BUSINESS ENGAGED IN FOR THE LAST 5 YEARS:

1				
2				
3				
4				
5				
LIST EACH PLACE IN WHICH YO				
Street Address	•		Zip	-
1				
2				
3				
4				
5				
Military Service/ Branch:	Start	date:		End date
Type of Discharge:	Rank upo	on Discharge	:	
Have you ever been found guilty in a Court	Martial proceeding	YES	NO	
Have you ever been arrested for a crime:		YES	NO	
Have you ever been convicted of a crime:		VEC	NO	



Mike Linder Sheriff / Coroner

Robert Lester Undersheriff

2323 2nd Ave N, Billings, Montana 59101 Phone: 406-256-2929

(Exception: <u>m</u>	<u>inor traffic violations;</u> attac	h additional sheet if necess	ary)	
	Charges	Date	City	State
1				
2				
3				
LIST THRE	E PEOPLE WHOME YOU	U HAVE KNOWN FOR A	T LEAST 5 YEARS THA	AT WILL BE
CREDIBLE	WITNESSES TO YOUR (GOOD MORAL CHARA	CTER AND PEACEABLI	E DISPOITION.
	WITNESSES TO YOUR (le relatives or present/ past		CTER AND PEACEABLI	E DISPOITION.
			CTER AND PEACEABLI Contac	
	le relatives or present/ past			
(Do not includ	le relatives or present/ past			
(Do not includ	le relatives or present/ past			
(Do not included	le relatives or present/ past			
1	le relatives or present/ past Name	employers)	Contac	rt
1	le relatives or present/ past	employers)	Contac	rt
1	le relatives or present/ past Name	employers)	Contac	rt
1	Name ETAIL, PLEASE EXPLA	employers)	Contac	rt



Mike Linder Sheriff / Coroner Undersheriff

Robert Lester

2323 2nd Ave N, Billings, Montana 59101 Phone: 406-256-2929

MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD HOLDER ADVISORY:

I have read and understand all of the above:

Applicant signature: _____

According to 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(3), the use or possession of marijuana remains unlawful under Federal law regardless of
whether it has been legalized or decriminalized for medicinal or recreational purpose in the state where you reside.
I have read and understand the Medical Marijuana card holder advisory. (Initials required)
I, the undersigned applicant, swear that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief and is given with the full knowledge that any misstatement may be sufficient cause for denial or revocation of a
permit to carry a concealed weapon. I authorize any person having information concerning me that related to the
information requested by this application and the requirements for a concealed weapon permit, either public record or
otherwise, to furnish it to the Sheriff to whom this application is made.
I understand that federal and state laws on possession of firearms and other weapons differ, and a person who violates
federal or other states laws may be prosecuted in another state or jurisdiction, and this permit will not be a defense.
If any circumstances arise that requires the Sheriff to revoke the permit, I will surrender the concealed weapons permit to
any Peace Officer after notification by the Sheriff.
THIS MUST BE SIGNED IN FRONT OF THE SHERIFF OR A DESIGNEE!!

PLEASE ATTACH OF THE FOLLOWING AS A REQUIRMENT BY STATUE, TO THE APPLICATION: STANDARD:

COPY OF FIREARMS TRAINING CERTIFICATION, DD-14, or HUNTER SAFETY CERITIFCATION