

<u>CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT</u> <u>APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS & PROCEDURES</u>

- Applicant must be at least 18 years of age, a US citizen or permanent lawful resident, and a current resident of Montana for at least 6 months.
- Applicant must have a valid Montana driver's license or ID card.
- Per MCA 45-8-321, Applicant must complete a certified firearms safety course before an application is submitted. Acceptable proof of training includes:
 - <u>Non-expired Yellowstone County issued</u> CWP; or
 - Hunters Safety Card (Bow Hunters Card does not apply) issued by Montana Department of Fish Wildlife & Parks or similar agency of another state; or
 - DD-214 Member-4 copy or NGB Form 22 (must show type of discharge & military education); or
 - Certificate of Training from a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher learning, or any NRA certified instruction course certificate must include the instructor's name and NRA instructor number.
 - Online Courses: The online Hunter's Safety course offered through Montana's Fish Wildlife & Parks is acceptable without further instruction. Any other online course must be taught by an NRA certified instructor and the course must be approved by the Sheriff – certificate must include instructor's name and NRA instructor number.
- All permits require a completed Application packet.
- <u>NEW</u> permits are processed by appointment only. Appointments are scheduled in 15minute increments – one person per time slot. Late arrivals may be asked to reschedule based on staff availability.
- <u>Permits expired more than 30 days</u> will be processed as new and require an appointment.

- Appointments can be made online at the Yellowstone County Sheriff's website (see Weapon Permits link) or by calling 406-256-2939.
- <u>Non-Expired RENEWAL</u> permits are processed on a walk-in basis. As of January 4, 2021, walk in hours are: Monday Friday 9:00 a.m. 3:00 p.m. (Closed Federal holidays)
- Renewing Applicants may apply no sooner than 90 days prior to permit expiration date and Applicant will not be reminded of permit expiration date
- Please allow up to 60 days for approval and processing of permit.
- Applicant must list any/all arrests on the application including DUI's, Criminal Notices to Appear, Criminal Summons, and Arrest Warrants. Omission of any of this information may result in denial of a permit.
- Applicant must list each/every conviction, including court martials if applicable, on the application. Criminal conviction, or omission thereof, may result in denial of a permit.
- Applicant must list 3 references on the application. References must know Applicant for a minimum 5 years and cannot be a relative (including in-law) or past/present employer. Failure to provide references may result in denial of permit.
- <u>Appointment/Walk-In Location</u>: Yellowstone County Sheriff's Office at 2323 2nd Avenue North, Billings MT. Please note we are no longer located in the round building on 3rd Avenue North.
- <u>Application Fees:</u> New Permit: \$50.00; Renewal Permit: \$25.00 (fees set by State Statute and have been reduced to reflect we no longer take fingerprints as of January 1, 2021.) Fees are due at time of appointment and are non-refundable.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

- □ Completed/Unsigned application
- □ Montana photo ID
- □ Proof of certified firearms safety course or <u>non-expired Yellowstone</u> <u>County issued</u> CWP.
- \Box Fee *exact* cash, check payable to Yellowstone County, or Mastercard/Visa (there is a small percent service fee for paying by card).